Whatever the evils of which we were victims during our childhood, sexual violence, harassment, physical or psychological violence, there is a point on which we all find ourselves, induced by our suffering to wounds too long kept for us : the desire to die.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The hold of our aggressors is such that it is often impossible for us to be able to verbalize the harm they do to us. To say ... for others, non-victims, it seems so simple ... Why didn't you say anything? This is the eternal question we are asked when we finally find the courage. It hurts that question. She feels guilty as if we needed this.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Because in the end, what pushes us into a vacuum, what makes us look death in the face, is not so much the harm that we have been done. The physical can repair itself. But how do you heal invisible wounds? Even more than the harm my brother did to me, it was all the years of silence that followed that destroyed me. Thirty years of silence. Thirty years of swallowed anger, of shame, of guilt.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

We are like in a tunnel that we would never see the end of. A cold and black tunnel, in which the slightest hope bumps into walls that are too close. And the more we advance, the more we have the feeling that the outcome is moving away from us. It's scary. It drives you crazy.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

How do I make it stop? This darkness, this cold, this feeling of loneliness? These masks that we wear so that we are left alone but which give us an even more bad image of ourselves? No one can help us because no one can understand us. So, in the midst of all this chaos, only one solution seems obvious to us: to die.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

I too had this desire, this desire to end it which brought me to the parapet of a bridge, with the void below me. Nothing mattered anymore. Because I was nothing anymore and that couldn't be life. I remember that moment like it was yesterday. I took a huge breath. I looked around for the last time. But I couldn't manage to empty myself. My brother's face was everywhere. He had a smile. A mocking smile.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

I understood then. My life was non-life. Certainly. But by jumping there, without having released my word, my death was going to be useless. This realization was like an electric shock. And I came down from the wall that separated me from nothingness. And I stayed, like a menace in my brother's pretty sky, a sword ready to strike him down at any moment.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

I still had to wait almost 18 years after this episode to find the strength not to be afraid anymore, not to be ashamed. But I have never forgotten that night, that night when I wanted to die. She was my strength to stay upright. I know death may seem the only way. But I don't regret anything today. Because I am where I need to be. And I have this feeling of doing what I went through this hell for.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Don't spend your life wondering why. Why us ? Why did they do this to us? This question drives you crazy because it has no answer. Live. Live to show them that they didn't win. Live so that it is they who are afraid, they who end up being ashamed. Oh no, not what they did to us. No, ashamed of the gaze of others, ashamed of the rumor.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Live!

L'envie de mourir.png

Quels que soient les maux dont nous avons été victimes durant notre enfance, violences sexuelles, harcèlement, violences physiques ou psychologiques, il y a un point sur lequel nous nous retrouvons toutes et tous, induit par nos souffrances à des blessures trop longtemps gardées pour nous : l'envie de mourir. 

L'emprise de nos agresseurs est telle qu'il nous est souvent impossible de pouvoir verbaliser le mal qu'il nous font. Dire... pour les autres, les non victimes, ça paraît tellement simple... Pourquoi tu n'as rien dit ? C'est l'éternelle question qu'on nous pose quand enfin on trouve le courage. Elle fait mal cette question. Elle culpabilise comme si on avait besoin de cela.

Car au final, ce qui nous pousse dans le vide, ce qui nous fait regarder la mort en face, ce n'est pas tant le mal qu'on nous a fait. Le physique peut se réparer. Mais comment soigner les blessures invisibles ? Plus encore que le mal que m'a fait mon frère, c'est toutes les années de silence qui ont suivi qui m'ont détruit. Trente ans de silence. Trente ans de colère ravalée, de honte, de culpabilité.

On est comme dans un tunnel dont on ne verrait jamais le bout. Un tunnel froid et noir, dans lequel le moindre espoir vient se cogner contre des parois trop proches. Et plus on avance et plus on a la sensation que l'issue s'éloigne de nous. Ça fait peur. Ça rend fou. 

Comment faire pour que ça s'arrête ? Ce noir, ce froid, ce sentiment de solitude ? Ces masques qu'on porte pour qu'on nous laisse tranquille mais qui nous donnent encore plus une mauvaise image de nous ? Personne ne peut nous aider parce que personne ne peut nous comprendre. Alors, au milieu de tout ce chaos, une seule solution nous semble évidente : mourir.

J'ai eu moi aussi cette envie, ce désir d'en finir qui m'a amené sur le parapet d'un pont, avec le vide en dessous de moi. Plus rien ne comptait. Car je n'étais plus rien et que ça ne pouvait pas être ça la vie. Je me souviens de cet instant comme si c'était hier. J'ai pris une immense respiration. J'ai regardé une dernière fois autour de moi. Mais je ne parvenais pas à faire le vide. Le visage de mon frère était partout. Il avait un sourire. Un sourire moqueur.

J'ai compris alors. Ma vie était une non-vie. Certes. Mais en sautant, là, sans avoir libéré ma parole, ma mort n'allait servir à rien. Cette prise de conscience a été comme un électro choc. Et je suis redescendu du muret qui me séparait du néant. Et je suis resté, comme une menace dans le joli ciel de mon frère, une épée prête à s'abattre sur lui à tout moment. 

Il m'a fallu encore attendre près de 18 ans après cet épisode pour trouver la force de ne plus avoir peur, ne plus avoir honte. Mais je n'ai jamais oublié cette nuit-là, cette nuit où j'ai voulu mourir. Elle a été ma force pour rester debout. Je sais que la mort peut sembler l'unique voie. Mais je ne regrette rien aujourd'hui. Car je suis là où je dois être. Et j'ai cette sensation de faire ce pourquoi j'ai vécu cet enfer.

Ne passez pas votre vie à vous demander pourquoi. Pourquoi nous ? Pourquoi nous ont-ils fait cela ? Cette question rend fou parce qu'elle n'a pas de réponse. Vivez. Vivez pour leur montrer qu'ils n'ont pas gagné. Vivez pour que ce soit eux qui aient peur, eux qui finissent par avoir honte. Oh non, pas de ce qu'ils nous ont fait. Non, honte du regard des autres, honte de la rumeur.

Vivez !