When we are parents, we necessarily want the best for our children. The best for the future, but also the best for the present. We want them to grow up in peace, to live their childhood lives. But above all, what we want more than anything is not to hurt them.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Unfortunately, it is complicated, if not impossible to prevent a monster from preying on a child, complicated to prevent bullying at school, racketeering, violence. Above all, the hold of the aggressors is sometimes such that it is often impossible for the child to verbalize the harm done to him.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

My brother was raping me and I hoped more than anything for an outstretched hand to get me out of his clutches. But I was unable to call for help. I was trying to send little signs for someone to understand that something was going on… No one ever understood. Sometimes the unconscious takes care of sending signals. Do we know how to recognize them?

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Unfortunately, there isn't a fixed, perfectly defined catalog of signs that children can make to alert us. Especially since, depending on the age, the markers are different. And, when we notice them, we attribute them to something else: It surely comes from adolescence. Or, we say to ourselves that it is our divorce that is bothering them ... In short, there is always a reason for it to be something else. For my mother, I had to brood a sore throat, a cold. I certainly had the longest cold in history.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

More seriously, I, who was cheerful and sociable, began to withdraw, to isolate myself. More generally, any sudden change in their behavior, in their attitudes, their notes, their patience, any change must question us. Other signals should alert us: anxiety and shame, loss of self-confidence, refusal to change clothes or wash (the reverse, compulsive cleanliness, is also a sign). The relationship to his body is a message. Mine made me ashamed and put me in a swimsuit, for the swimming lessons with the others… absolutely unthinkable!

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

There is also sometimes a kind of escape in regressive behavior, as if to become a little child again and no longer be a victim. Even in a familiar environment, the child will not feel safe. It will always be on alert, will jump at the slightest abnormal noise. All attention-grabbing behaviors must really… grab attention. Lying to be interested in them, eating less, fighting often. And, in a more excessive way: smoking very young, self-injuring, skipping classes, drinking a lot and sometimes until an alcoholic coma ...

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Basically I don't think there are difficult kids. For me, there are only children who live in difficult situations and who try, in their own way, and without having the strength to say it, to make us understand that something is wrong. Let’s not be blinded by preconceived ideas. Always consider the worst. Let us accept that they can be victims. Let us extend the hand to them which they are no doubt waiting for, since they send these signs.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

But, I know: the balance is fragile. Because we must also let them live their lives as children, adolescents. Respect their time. Let us help them to (re) build themselves. This is ultimately our entire role summed up!

Quand on est parent, on veut forcément le meilleur pour nos enfants. Le meilleur pour l'avenir mais aussi, le meilleur pour l'instant présent. On veut qu'ils grandissent dans la sérénité, qu'ils vivent leur vie d'enfant. Mais surtout, ce que nous voulons plus que tout, c'est qu'on ne leur fasse pas de mal.

Malheureusement, c'est compliqué, voire impossible d'empêcher un monstre de s'en prendre à un enfant, compliqué d'empêcher un harcèlement à l'école, un racket, des violences. Surtout que, l'emprise des agresseurs est parfois telle qu'il est souvent impossible pour l'enfant de verbaliser le mal qu'on lui fait.

Mon frère me violait et j'espérais plus que tout une main tendue pour qu'on me sorte de ses griffes. Mais j'étais incapable d'appeler à l'aide. J'essayais d'envoyer des petits signes pour que quelqu'un comprenne que quelque chose se passait… Personne n'a jamais compris. Parfois, l'inconscient se charge d'émettre des signaux. Savons-nous les reconnaître ?

Il n'y a malheureusement pas un catalogue fixe et parfaitement défini de signes que les enfants peuvent faire pour nous alerter. Surtout que, selon l'âge, les marqueurs sont différents. Et, quand on les remarque, on les attribue à autre chose : Ça vient sûrement de l'adolescence. Ou bien, on se dit que c'est notre divorce qui les tracasse… Bref, il y a toujours une raison pour que ce soit autre chose. Pour ma mère, je devais couver une angine, un rhume. J'ai très certainement eu le rhume le plus long de l'histoire.

Plus sérieusement, moi qui étais enjoué, et sociable, j'ai commencé à me renfermer, à m'isoler. Plus généralement, tout changement brutal dans leur comportement, dans leurs attitudes, leurs notes, leurs patiences, tout changement doit nous interroger. D'autres signaux doivent nous alerter : angoisse et honte, perte de confiance en soi, refus de changer de vêtements ou de se laver ( l'inverse, la propreté compulsive, est aussi un signe). Le rapport à son corps est un message. Le mien me faisait honte et me mettre en maillot de bain, pour les cours de piscine avec les autres… absolument inenvisageable !

Il y a aussi parfois une sorte de fuite dans un comportement régressif, comme pour redevenir petit enfant et ne plus être victime. Même dans un environnement connu, l'enfant ne va pas se sentir en sécurité. Il sera toujours en alerte, sursautera au moindre bruit anormal. Tous les comportements pour attirer l'attention doivent vraiment… attirer l'attention. Mentir pour qu'on s'intéresse à eux, manger moins, se bagarrer souvent. Et, de façon plus excessive : fumer très jeune, s'automutiler, sécher les cours, boire beaucoup et parfois jusqu'au coma éthylique…

Fondamentalement, je ne pense pas qu'il existe des enfants difficiles. Il n'y a, pour moi, que des enfants qui vivent des situations difficiles et qui essaient, à leur manière, et sans avoir la force de le dire, de nous faire comprendre que quelque chose ne va pas. Ne soyons pas aveuglés par des idées préconçues. Envisageons toujours le pire. Acceptons qu'ils puissent être victimes. Tendons-leur la main qu'ils attendent sans doute, puisqu'ils envoient ces signes.

Mais, je sais : l'équilibre est fragile. Car nous devons aussi les laisser vivre leur vie d'enfants, d'adolescents. Respectons leur temps. Aidons-les à se (re)construire. C'est finalement là tout notre rôle résumé !

©2019 Association les Papillons. Tous droits réservés.
  • Facebook Social Icône
  • Instagram
  • Gazouillement
MIN_chargeDesSports_RVB (002).jpg
téléchargement (1).png